Skip to content

Winnebago Lake Sturgeon

January 11, 2010

Welcome to the Winnebago Lake Sturgeon blog!  My name is Stephanie Wisnet and I’m currently a photography student at UW-Milwaukee.  I’m in my senior year and am in a 2 semester photography class–for my final project, I have chosen to document sturgeon spearing on Lake Winnebago.  I will document the 2010 season in February, as well as other sturgeon events throughout the year.  I was raised in Appleton and have been around sturgeon spearing since I was born.  My dad is a dedicated sturgeon spearer and gave me the idea to embark on this project.  My goal is to create awareness of the amazing, prehistoric Lake Sturgeon and Wisconsin’s positive relationship with the fish.  I want to specifically focus on the sturgeon spearing season on Lake Winnebago and document the history and Wisconsin culture.  Sturgeon spearing in Wisconsin is a very unique experience and I want to share it with the world.   Check back for updates on the project and sturgeon spearing!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

