Skip to content

Sturgeon Spearing 2010, Day 5

February 17, 2010

The 90% harvest closure trigger has been hit and it looks like tomorrow will wrap up this season of sturgeon spearing on Lake Winnebago–the sturgeon and spearers will have a nice break until February 2011.  Yet again the weather was beautiful today with temperatures in the 30s and partly cloudy skies.  I can imagine the water clarity hasn’t changed too much either.  I was out on the lake this morning checking out the conditions and photographing a few shacks here and there (I must have hundreds of photos of single shacks by now–I’ve been collecting them as I go) and I stopped by Waverly Beach and the Town of Harrison registration stations.  Both were slower today, but I did see a few sturgeon go through.  I made it over to the Stockbridge area around 12:30pm and stopped at the Harbor Bar registration station and saw a few sturgeon go through there as well, but they all seemed to be on the smaller size today.  Well I suppose I shouldn’t say that–not all the sturgeon can be as large as the 150+ lb. sturgeon that I have seen in the last few days.  Every day I watch more shacks come off the lake, but was surprised at the large number of shacks still on the east shore.  More photos are on their way.

Even though the season is almost over, check the Winnebago Lake Sturgeon blog regularly throughout the year for more photos and video, updates on events, sturgeon spawning, sturgeon releases, and more.  I will continue to post anything I learn about sturgeon and give you updates on where this project goes in the coming year (see “Project” tab above for more info), so stick around!  Good luck tomorrow for those heading out!

Article & video at Fox 11 online:  “One last chance to spear a sturgeon

Article and links at the Post Crescent online:  “Sturgeon tally nears 1,500; 8 more fish top 100 pounds

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 9:36 pm

    Thanks for all your hard work & dedication on collecting photos & info, This is great!!!!!

Leave a Reply

