Skip to content

Sturgeon Spawning Update from Ron Bruch on May 7, 2011

May 7, 2011
This update has been posted with permission from Ron Bruch and the Wisconsin DNR:
“As I mentioned in my report from last Thursday May 5th (when we “thought” we had finished our dip netting for this spring) I expected a significant 2nd run of sturgeon at Shawano when the water temperatures got above 50 degrees F (10 C).  Well – while working in my yard a few minutes ago, Carl Mesman, our LE Sturgeon General, called me to report that the water temps at Shawano are now 51, and that he was standing below the Shawano dam watching 100s perhaps 1000s of sturgeon spawning once again.  I turned on the Wolf River Cam  http://wolfrivercam.com/Shawano%20Above.html and  http://wolfrivercam.com/Shawano%20Dam.html to see Carl standing next to constant splashing from spawning sturgeon.  He said there are spawning sturgeon across the entire river below the dam.  Looks like the 2nd run is on at Shawano.  I don’t know whether I will mobilize my tagging crew to go out and tag some more, but I thought people might like to know about this so they can go see fish at Shawano for the next couple of days or more, or so they can do some additional viewing on the Wolf River Cam.
Carl also said he found no other spawning activity at other sites downriver – only at Shawano.
Ronald M. Bruch, PhD
Upper Fox-Wolf Fisheries Work Unit Supervisor, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources”
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

