Skip to content

Sturgeon Spearing 2012 Opens in Less Than 12 Hours!

February 10, 2012

Are you ready?!?  The weather finally cooperated with us on “sturgeon spearing eve” and it’ll be a cold morning on the ice tomorrow.  Opening day will be beautiful and sunny with a high of approx. 19 degrees.  We have a good base of snow to bank around the shanties and hopefully the couple inches will keep them from blowing across the ice.  It’s never a good thing when you head out for spearing and you can’t find your shanty on a windy day!

I’m gearing up for the big day tonight and working out my plan of attack. This year my full-time job will limit my days out on the lake, but I will definitely be out all of Saturday and Sunday.  Tomorrow evening when things calm down a bit, I’ll post a few photos and and any info I learned along the way.  I plan on sticking to the north shore tomorrow, but may venture around the lake if I hear anything interesting.  Feel free to submit photos and info to winnebagosturgeon@gmail.com or share it on the Facebook page!  I’d love to hear from you.

I woke up before the sun came up this morning so that I could grab a few photos of the action to share before work (for some of you this isn’t a big deal, but I am definitely not a morning person), but I came up pretty empty-handed.  There were a few shacks for sale right off of Firelane 8 and the hole-cutting service was just getting set up when I drove by.  The snow was coming down heavily this morning and visibility was terrible, so here is what I have to share (view from Firelane 8):

Lake Winnebago from Firelane 8 on February 10, 2012

Lake Winnebago from Firelane 8 on February 10, 2012

Not much I know, but I promise better photos for the remainder of the season!  I saw a few spearers making their way out onto the ice, but I heard there was a lot more action on the ice this afternoon and thankfully the sky cleared up near the end of the day.  I received a report that spearers are finding up to 13″ of ice off of Firelane 8 and the water clarity is decent in 12′ of water.  I am anxious to see the number of shanties on the ice this year.  It sounds like about half of the spearers will be out there this season, but we’ll have a much better idea once the season kicks off.  That’s all I have to share for now, but check back for the daily sturgeon totals and plenty of stories, photos, and info.  Keep me posted, good luck, and stay safe out there!

In the Post Crescent:  “Spearers make final preparations for Wisconsin sturgeon season

One Comment leave one →
  1. dan permalink
    February 10, 2012 7:35 pm

    Thank your Father for all the help today, it was a fun day.

Leave a Reply

