Skip to content

Sturgeon Spawning Update from Ron Bruch

April 9, 2012

The following update has been posted with permission from Ron Bruch and the Wisconsin DNR. This website is not affiliated with the DNR, Sturgeon for Tomorrow, or any other organization.

Excerpt on sturgeon spawning from Ron Bruch’s update on April 9, 2012:

“We accomplished a tremendous amount of good sturgeon work today at the Shawano spawning site and beyond………

dip netted, captured, and PIT tagged almost 300 lake sturgeon;
collected sperm from about 75 males and eggs from 15 females for various restoration projects;
conducted river-side seminars on sturgeon biology and life history with over 100 interested publics and several school classes;
completed interviews with 2 Television crews, 1 radio crew, and a couple of newspapers on the 2012 sturgeon run; and
finished all of the tagging, egg taking, seminaring, and interviewing in time to get back to the hotel to wash off the sturgeon slime and drive up to 2 hours to represent Fisheries at the annual Spring Conservation Congress meetings in 10 counties in our work unit (10 of our crew including myself).

The sturgeon came into the Shawano site consistently all day and it appears they may spawn out in a couple more days or by mid to late week. Fish also moved into a couple of other sites downstream from Shawano so this thing isn’t over yet. I expect fish could show up at other sites as well and extend the season even beyond the big push at Shawano. The Shawano “Sturgeon Cam” on the web is spectacular so if you haven’t taken a look at it yet here’s the link again http://www.wolfrivercam.com/Shawano%20Dam.html.

Finally – a couple of weeks ago I announced that Ryan Koenigs, our new Fisheries Biologist in Oshkosh, is taking over for me as Sturgeon Biologist. He is doing an excellent job and I’ve attached a photo of him and me tagging sturgeon at Shawano. I’ve also attached a photo of Ryan and me with Dan Folz, the Sturgeon Biologist I inherited the Winnebago Sturgeon Program (and supervisory position) from in 1990. Dan still works on our crew every spring and is an integral part of our operation. I owe a great debt of gratitude to Dan for what he has done to help and inspire me in my career. I’ve often said it takes numerous generations of Sturgeon Biologists to build a successful sturgeon management program. I am truly blessed that I have been able to be the guy in the middle between Dan and Ryan; and that I have also been able to work over the years, and continue to work with, my entire outstanding crew of biologists and technicians.

Ryan Koenigs (l), Ron Bruch (DNR Photo)

3 Generations of Winnebago Sturgeon Biologists (l-r: Dan Folz, Ron Bruch, Ryan Koenigs)

Ronald M. Bruch, PhD
Upper Fox-Wolf Fisheries Work Unit Supervisor, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

